Homemade beauty: All natural DIY cure for troublesome, itchy, flaky scalp

Heinz-Vinegar

Every time the weather changes, even the slightest bit, my scalp starts misbehaving and gets extremely troublesome; Itchy, flaky and extremely uncomfortable. I have tried a number of treatments, but nothing has provided a permanent solution.  Over the years, I have come to accept my moody scalp for what it is, and try anticipating it’s needs and addressing them to keep it calm and pacified. Regular oil treatments, gentle shampoos and always a bottle of medicated anti-dandruff shampoo handy in the shower.

I always detested having to use the medicated shampoos because they dried out my hair making it a frizzy nightmare to deal with. To add to this, once I started colouring my hair regularly, the shampoo would work it’s miracle on the colour and turn what would be a beautiful job my colourist put in hours perfecting, into some unidentifiable colour (not very pleasant to look at) in record time.

I knew the medicated shampoos had to go, but before I could banish them from my bathroom, I needed an effective alternate to switch to. That’s when I read about Vinegar being an effective cure for problematic scalps. The natural beauty champion in my jumped with joy and I ran out to my neighbourhood grocer to buy a bottle of apple cider vinegar. As luck would have it, the store did not stock ACV, and had only regular vinegar.  Some frantic Googling ensued and I found that regular vinegar was acceptable. I bought a bottle and rushed home to prepare my potion.  After a fair bit of trial and error, I figured this is what worked best for me.

  • Mix equal parts of vinegar and water in a bottle with a spray top. You will need about 100 ml per use and it’s best to mix together a fresh batch before every use.
  • Section off you hair and spray the mixture through your entire scalp until your scalp is soaked.
  • Leave on for between 20 minutes to 1 hour and wash and condition your hair as usual.

At the time I started this treatment my scalp troubles were at the their worst and using this treatment before every wash for 2 weeks (5-6 washes) restored my scalp to its healthy best. I cut down using this concoction to once ever 2 washes for a month or so and now I use it once in 2 weeks or so just as maintenance.

I haven’t been able to find, why exactly vinegar works the way it does, but I read somewhere that it was something to do with pH levels and that sort of stuff. Frankly, I don’t quite care how it does what it does. I am more than content knowing that it’s a gentle all natural remedy, without any side-effects, that works very well for me.

Leave a Reply

