Reviewed! Toni &Guy Casual Texturising Sea Salt Spray

So I have wavy hair, and I’ve been told many many times ‘Oh! you’re so lucky, you have the best of both worlds!’. No. To all those people out there who think wavy hair is the shit: No, it isn’t. It’s the kind of hair that resembles a crow’s nest unless it is heat styled. For a person who has the patience with a blow dryer or a curling iron, wavy hair is a dream as it tends to hold a blow dry and curls equally well. However, for a lazy person like yours truly, it’s a nightmare. Every hair-wash day meant a battle with my blowdryer or curling iron to try and tame my hair into submission.

Toni & Guy Texturising Sea Salt Spary

I’d heard about sea salt sprays and their magical effect on wavy hair, but they proved extremely difficult to find in India. I found the Toni & Guy Casual Texturising Sea Salt spray while trolling the internet a couple of months ago and jumped on it.

What it claims:

Creates texture and body with light to medium hold. Suitable for all hair types and perfect for achieving a lived in, beach look. Spritz evenly root to tip, on towel-dried or dry hair and work through to create tousled waves and natural movement.

For extra hold and texture, layer through dry hair and re-style with fingers.

What it does:

The good:

  • Creates gorgeous, frizz free,textured beachy waves.
  • Works on both wet and dry hair.
  • Doesn’t weigh the hair down.
  • Doesn’t make hair crunchy.
  • Smells like the beach.

The not so good:

  • Can make the crown greasy if sprayed too close to the roots.
  • Frequent use can tend to make hair a tad dry.

The Cost:

Neither cheap nor too expensive. The 200 ML bottle retails at INR 900.00

The verdict:

While I like how this product works on my hair, it is the first one I’ve tried and I’m not sure that this is the best one out there. So instead of repurchasing this once I am done with the bottle, I’m going to explore other options that don’t dry out my hair as much. But one thing is for sure, sea salt spray is the answer to having put together hair without using heat and I’m hooked!

2 comments

  1. Hahaha you’re so funny. I have wavy hair too, and the frizz factor is the worst. I use Not Your Mother’s “Beach Babe Texturizing Sea Salt Spray.” Mine sounds like it does the same as yours and leaves my hair feeling a little dry and sticky…I don’t know how people get good results with this type of stuff…

    Like

    1. Thank you! I’m glad I’m not alone in my misery :p Living in India I don’t have too many choices product-wise because beauty companies still seem to consider India the land of Elephants and Snake Charmers! If you find anything that works I’d love to hear about it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

