Reviewed! Sephora Express Dry Shampoo

The concept of dry shampoo is a saviour for someone like me. Why? You ask?

  • I live in a tropical country and for 8 months every year the weather in my city ranges from pleasantly warm to scorchingly hot.
  • I have an oily scalp. The maximum time between hair washes is 36 hours. 24 if I have an event or somewhere special to go.
  • I am lazy.
  • I am lazy. (Yes, I am aware I listed this twice.)

Sephora Express Dry Shampoo

 

So anyway, for the longest time, it was nearly impossible to find dry shampoo in India. The only one I ever saw was the No Drought in a Lush store. But that is a powder dry shampoo which is yellow in colour, which left a white cast on my dark brown hair every time I hopefully tried it out in the store.

Then came Sephora, and brought with it, it’s Express Dry Shampoo. I got my hands on it, have been using it for a couple of months now and here’s how it fares:

The good:

  • Banishes mild greasiness (no visible shine but flat, limp hair), so I can now go 48 hours (2 full days) without a hair wash.
  • It’s the spray on kind, I like that.
  • Doesn’t leave any visible residue.
  • Gives my second day, limp hair a new lease on life by adding some texture to it.
  • It has a pleasant, fresh, almost citrusy scent.
  • My laziness  has found a new partner in crime

The not so good:

  • It doesn’t work too well on days when my hair is visibly greasy.
  • Doesn’t add as much texture as I’d like.

The cost:

Pretty expensive at INR 520/75ml.

The Verdict:

The Sephora Express Dry Shampoo is not cheap. For the price, I expect it to perform better. I will not be repurchasing it any time soon because other brands are starting to launch dry shampoos in India (L’oreal just launched it’s Fresh Dust Dry Shampoo), and I want to try those out to see if they perform better. But dry shampoos are going to be a permanent fixture on my vanity, here on out.

Leave a Reply

