Reviewed! Ciaté Velvet Manicure

I’d heard amazing things about the brand and a Ciaté product had been on my wish list for sometime. I had not heard of the Velvet Manicure and only discovered it while trolling the aisles of a Sephora in Dubai recently. And since I was looking to splurge and buy something from the brand anyway, I thought why not a manicure kit. In terms of versatility and value for money it made more sense; I could use the whole kit, or just the nail paint on its own to achieve two very different looks. So I went ahead and picked up a Velvet Manicure in Blue Suede.

Ciate Velvet Maicure  Blue Suede

What it claims:

The product aims to achieve true exuberance and sophistication. The finished effect is unlike any other, giving an indulgent velvety coat to your manicure. Simply divine!

How it works:

Ciate Velvet Manicure blue suede

The kit come with a full size nail paint, a bottle of crushed velvet and a Little Black Brush. You’re supposed to paint all nails with one coat of the nail paint and then you work on each individual nail, painting on a second coat, followed immediately with a generous dousing of the crushed velvet.  You’re then supposed to sweep off the excess with the Little Black Brush that comes in the kit. The end product is supposed to nails that look  and feel like they’ve been coated with velvet.

Ciate velvet manicure

What it is:

Ciate Velvet Manicure India blue suede

This is after I had run my hands under water. I have no before pictures because:
– I didn’t think water would have an effect on the mani.
– I don’t like the product enough to use it again.

 

Ciate velvet manicure

The good:

  • The nail paint is a gorgeous midnight blue colour, unlike any other that I’ve come across. Looks really pretty on its own, but you do need 2 coats to get it opaque.
  •  They’ve been extremely generous with the crushed velvet and it seems like the velvet will not run out too long before the nail paint.
  • Every thing you need for the final look is provided in the kit, including the Little Black Brush to get rid of the excess crushed velvet.

The not so good:

  • You know how with most dark nail paints you can make so with one coat? Well this is not one of those. One coat of the nail paint leaves you runny uneven, translucent blue coloured nails.
  • Even though the process seem simple enough it is quite tedious and takes a long time to go through every nail and make them all look uniform.
  • The nail polish seems to dry extremely quickly. I found that even though I was loading ridiculous amounts of velvet on my nails, it wasn’t adhering to my nails and coating them evenly.
  • The little black brush can be counter productive. It actually seems to take off, more of the crushed velvet than necessary, leaving you with bald’ish’ nails. After a couple of tries, I gave up and just used the brush to dust off the excess velvet on my skin.
  • The end result is unevenly coated, textured nails that only vague resemble velvet. This resemblance lasts only until you’ve hand get wet. Once you get water on the nails, they manicure looses all its velvet like qualities and looks like any other textured nail paint. Actually, after running my hands under water the manicure looked very similar to how the Sugar Coats by Sally Hansen look on the nails.
  • The brush is extremely sparse and narrow. I think this was the most disappointing bit about the product. Seriously, my Maybelline Color Show nail paints that I get for INR 75 have better quality brushes.

The cost:

At about AED 145 (INR 2500 approx.), this product is extremely expensive.

The verdict:

From the quality of the nail paint to the finished product, this product has been an absolute disappointment. Even the longevity of the manicure is ridiculous. The velvet starting looking patchy the morning after followed promptly by chipping in under 24 hours. The cost is in no way justifiable. I wouldn’t recommend this to anybody, in fact I’d go as far as to say, don’t waste your money on it! Needless to say, I am not going to be repurchasing this ever! However, I might give Ciaté another shot and try out one of their basic nail paints just because so many people are raving about the brand.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

